February Book Haul

Feburary Book Haul

Hey guys! Since the month of February is over I thought I would post about all the books I have bought during the month of February and why I bought them. Enjoy!

37 Do Androids Dream of Electric SheepDo Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Philip K. Dick

Goodreads Synopsis: By 2021, the World War had killed millions, driving entire species into extinction and sending mankind off-planet. Those who remained coveted any living creature, and for people who couldn’t afford one, companies built incredibly realistic simulacrae: horses, birds, cats, sheep…

They even built humans.

Emigrants to Mars received androids so sophisticated it was impossible to tell them from true men or women. Fearful of the havoc these artificial humans could wreak, the government banned them from Earth. But when androids didn’t want to be identified, they just blended in.

Rick Deckard was an officially sanctioned bounty hunter whose job was to find rogue androids, and to “retire” them. But when cornered, androids tended to fight back, with deadly results.

Where I purchased book: Barnes and Noble

Why I bought it? This was in the buy 2 get 1 free section. I saw the movie a while back and thought why not read the book finally. Plus who doesn’t love buying things and getting something free out of it.

StarstruckStarstruck by Lauren Conrad

Goodread Synopsis: As the drama surrounding Madison, Carmen, Gaby, and Kate is played out in front of the cameras and the relentless paparazzi, the girls quickly discover that fame comes at a price. Featuring hot new characters and old favorites from the #1 New York Times bestselling series L.A. Candy, the second Fame Game novel chronicles the rise and fall of Hollywood’s newest reality stars.


Are the stars of The Fame Game ready for their close-ups?

Madison Parker has discovered that not all publicity is good publicity. After turning herself in for stealing some bling, the reality star is stuck doing community service while her Fame Game castmates soak up all the screen time. Not that newcomer Kate Hayes needs more attention—ever since her breakout song became an overnight sensation she’s suddenly acting like she’s Katy Perry. Aspiring actress Carmen Curtis is finally making a name for herself, but she’s finding it harder than ever to get out from behind her famous mother’s shadow. And in Hollywood, leading men are a dime a dozen, but a good man is hard to find. So when two of the girls have their eye on the same guy, that can mean only one thing: on-camera drama.

In the second novel in bestselling author Lauren Conrad’s Fame Game series, friendships are tested, lines are crossed, and fashion crimes are committed—and that’s before the cameras even start rolling.

Anyone who has ever wondered what it is like to make it in Hollywood will love this fun, addictive series written by someone who has seen—and lived—it all. Full of dishy details about young Hollywood that only an insider can reveal, bestselling author, fashion designer, and television star Lauren Conrad shows that the real drama happens behind the scenes.

Where I purchased book: Book Outlet

Why I bought it? Book Outlet was selling this book for only .49 cents. I could not pass that deal up. I know I never read the first one but I enjoyed LA Candy so I just assumed I would like this one as well.

InfamousInfamous by Lauren Conrad

Goodread Synopsis: FAME COMES AT A PRICE

Filming for season two of The Fame Game has begun, and star Madison Parker is doing something she never thought she’d do: avoiding the PopTV cameras. She knows Trevor will come groveling and that she’ll go back to the show eventually – but on her terms. Fame can turn a girl into a pawn, and Madison knows that’s not the life she wants.

Fame can turn a girl into a target, too, something her Fame Game costars are quickly learning. Up-and-coming actress Carmen is trying to figure out who’s feeding gossip about her to the press, and all signs point to someone from her inner circle. Meanwhile, the tabloids have dubbed Kate “The Boring One”, but if she’s so boring, why is she the one with the boyfriend and a stalker? Help comes from an unexpected place as Madison gives Kate pointers about how to work the reality-TV system. But will Kate take the advice too far?

As the girls’ careers heat up, so do their love lives, and they each discover that chasing their dreams almost always comes at a price. In the exciting conclusion to her Fame Game series, bestselling author and fashion designer Lauren Conrad pulls back the curtain on Hollywood to reveal that being glamorous isn’t always pretty.

Where I purchased book: Book Outlet

Why I bought it? I only bought this book because it was cheap. Plus I thought since I have the other two why not just buy the third one as well.

Summer House With Swimming PoolSummer House with Swimming Pool by Herman Koch

Goodreads Synopsis: When a medical procedure goes horribly wrong and famous actor Ralph Meier winds up dead, Dr. Marc Schlosser needs to come up with some answers. After all, reputation is everything in this business. Personally, he’s not exactly upset Ralph is gone, but as a high profile doctor to the stars, Marc can’t hide from the truth forever.

It all started the previous summer. Marc, his wife, and their two teenage daughters spend a week at the Meier’s summer home on the Mediterranean with Ralph, his wife and mother-in-law, and film director Stanley Forbes and his girlfriend. They quickly settle in for days of sunshine, wine tasting, and trips to the beach, but when a violent incident disrupts the idyll, darker motivations are revealed, and suddenly no one can be trusted. As the ultimate holiday soon turns into a nightmare, the circumstances surrounding Ralph’s later death begin to reveal the disturbing reality behind that summer’s tragedy.

Where I purchased book: Book Outlet

Why I bought it? I read Herman’s other book, The Dinner. Overall I enjoyed that one so I thought why not try this one since it’s a cheap price and on my tbr list. If it’s horrible at least I won’t feel so bad about it.

Where We BelongWhere We Belong by Emily Giffin

Goodreads Synopsis: Marian Caldwell is a thirty-six year old television producer, living her dream in New York City. With a fulfilling career and satisfying relationship, she has convinced everyone, including herself, that her life is just as she wants it to be. But one night, Marian answers a knock on the door . . . only to find Kirby Rose, an eighteen-year-old girl with a key to a past that Marian thought she had sealed off forever. From the moment Kirby appears on her doorstep, Marian’s perfectly constructed world—and her very identity—will be shaken to its core, resurrecting ghosts and memories of a passionate young love affair that threaten everything that has come to define her.

For the precocious and determined Kirby, the encounter will spur a process of discovery that ushers her across the threshold of adulthood, forcing her to re-evaluate her family and future in a wise and bittersweet light. As the two women embark on a journey to find the one thing missing in their lives, each will come to recognize that where we belong is often where we least expect to find ourselves—a place that we may have willed ourselves to forget, but that the heart remembers forever.

Where I purchased book: Book Outlet

Why I bought it? I’m a huge fan of Emily Giffin. I have read several of her other books and really enjoyed them. That’s why I ended up buying this and Heart of the Matter. I do hope they are good. I went in mainly buying them because I liked the author.

Leaving TimeLeaving Time by Jodi Picoult

Goodreads Synopsis: For over a decade, Jenna Metcalf obsesses on her vanished mom Alice. Jenna searches online, rereads journals of the scientist who studied grief among elephants. Two unlikely allies are Serenity Jones, psychic for missing people who doubts her gift, and Virgil Stanhope, jaded PI who originally investigated cases of Alice and her colleague. Hard questions and answers.

Where I purchased book: Barnes and Noble

Why I bought it? This was the second book from my buy 2 get 1 free purchase. My friend and I split it up. I got one and she got one then we agreed on one we both wanted. This was the one we both wanted. Last year I read a short story by Jodi dealing with the main character in this book. I really enjoyed that a lot so I knew I had to read this at some point. Thankfully I found a reason to buy it. 

Uglies & PrettiesUglies and Pretties by Scott Westerfeld

Goodreads Synopsis: The first two novels of Scott Westerfeld’s New York Times bestselling series a global phenomenon that started the dystopian trend now available in one edition. Tally can’t wait to turn sixteen. Only then will she be able to have an operation to turn her from a repellant ugly into a stunningly attractive pretty and live in New Pretty Town a high-tech paradise where her only job will be to have fun. But when Tally finally becomes pretty, everything isn’t as perfect as it seems. Underneath all the beauty and luxury is a nagging sense that something is wrong. Very wrong. Searching for the truth, Tally discovers a whole new side of the pretty world and it isn’t very pretty. Now Tally has a choice to make: fight to forget what she knows or fight for her life.

Where I purchased book: Book Outlet

Why I bought it? Years ago I randomly read a couple chapters from the Uglies series at Barnes and Nobles and loved it. I wanted to get it then but for some reason I decided not to. I saw it on sale so I thought why not buy it now. It’s part of the reading challenge I’m doing so I really can’t wait to finally read the whole series.

26 Red Queen

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Goodreads Synopsis: This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.

Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.

But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart …

Where I purchased book: Barnes and Noble

Why I bought it? I’m not sure why but there was just something about this book that made me buy it. I’ve been thinking about it a lot lately. I think partly because of the cover. Something about it I really like. I can’t wait to eventually start reading this!

Heart of the MatterHeart of the Matter by Emily Giffin

Goodreads Synopsis: Tessa Russo is the mother of two young children and the wife of a renowned pediatric surgeon.  Despite her own mother’s warnings, Tessa has recently given up her career to focus on her family and the pursuit of domestic happiness. From the outside, she seems destined to live a charmed life.

Valerie Anderson is an attorney and single mother to six-year-old Charlie–a boy who has never known his father.  After too many disappointments, she has given up on romance–and even to some degree, friendships–believing that it is always safer not to expect too much.

Although both women live in the same Boston suburb, the two have relatively little in common aside from a fierce love for their children.  But one night, a tragic accident causes their lives to converge in ways no one could have imagined.

In alternating, pitch-perfect points of view, Emily Giffin creates a moving, luminous story of good people caught in untenable circumstances. Each being tested in ways they never thought possible. Each questioning everything they once believed. And each ultimately discovering what truly matters most.

Where I purchased book: Book Outlet

Why I bought it? I’m a huge fan of Emily Giffin. I have read several of her other books and really enjoyed them. That’s why I ended up buying this and Where We Belong. I do hope they are good. I went in mainly buying them because I liked the author.



I’m not sure I will be able to get to any of these during the month of March. I have some books taken out at the library that I want to read since they are due in a couple weeks. I plan on posting my TBR in March List in a couple days.

If you have read any of the books below feel free to leave a comment below with your thoughts. I always love hearing people’s thoughts on books.

Leave a Reply

