Book Review: The Couple Next Door

the-couple-next-doorThe Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena

Goodreads  Synopsis: Fast-paced and addictive, THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR announces a major new talent in thriller writing.

You never know what’s happening on the other side of the wall.

Your neighbor told you that she didn’t want your six-month-old daughter at the dinner party. Nothing personal, she just couldn’t stand her crying.

Your husband said it would be fine. After all, you only live next door. You’ll have the baby monitor and you’ll take it in turns to go back every half hour.

Your daughter was sleeping when you checked on her last. But now, as you race up the stairs in your deathly quiet house, your worst fears are realized. She’s gone.

You’ve never had to call the police before. But now they’re in your home, and who knows what they’ll find there.

What would you be capable of, when pushed past your limit?

My Review : Okay trying to put together my views on this book is a mess. Overall I enjoyed it but I didn’t think it was amazing. The more I think about it the more I realize it was all over the place. There were parts I liked and didn’t like.

Let me start off by telling you what the story is about. So Anne and Marco are fairly new parents. Their neighbor next door is having a party for her husband’s birthday. Their babysitter cancels and then end up deciding to still go to the party and watch their baby from the baby monitor. They decide that every 30 minutes they’ll go over to check on the baby. Finally when the party is over they go back to discover that their baby has gone missing. So the story is Anne and Marco trying to get their baby back.

I did enjoy how fast paced the story was especially at the beginning. The end of chapter one is them discovering that their baby is gone and everything becomes chaos. I enjoyed that it ended up getting straight to the point.

However I ended up feeling right away I had my hunch about a specific character and I ended up being right about it. Then later on you find out that there’s more to this kidnapping. That second twist threw me off guard but there was a point in this story that I was questioning this other character. I pushed it aside and forgot about it but later I remembered that hunch and it also was true. So I fee if you pay close attention you’ll have your guesses and probably will figure the story out.

I didn’t like how I feel how the story was giving us that unreliable character plot as well when I felt it was unnecessary. Maybe that’s just me but I felt it honestly didn’t add much to the story. I felt like it was just extra filler in a way. I know the author added it because she wanted you to maybe be like oh well actually it could be this person but I wasn’t buying it. It ties in with the end of the story which I also felt was extremely unnecessary as well. I really didn’t like it. It kind of killed things for me.

Overall this is a decent book. It’s overhyped in my mind. I know a lot of people really enjoyed this book so if it sounds interesting to you I say still try it. You might up really enjoying it.

Leave a Reply

