Follow Me Back Review

Follow Me BackFollow me Back By A.V. Geiger

Release Date: June 6th 2017

Goodreads’ Synopsis: Tessa Hart’s world feels very small. Confined to her bedroom with agoraphobia, her one escape is the online fandom for pop sensation Eric Thorn. When he tweets to his fans, it’s like his speaking directly to her…

Eric Thorn is frightened by his obsessive fans. They take their devotion way too far. It doesn’t help that his PR team keeps posting to encourage their fantasies.

When a fellow pop star is murdered at the hands of a fan, Eric knows he has to do something to shatter his online image fast—like take down one of his top Twitter followers. But Eric’s plan to troll @TessaHeartsEric unexpectedly evolves into an online relationship deeper than either could have imagined. And when the two arrange to meet IRL, what should have made for the world’s best episode of Catfish takes a deadly turn…

Told through tweets, direct messages, and police transcripts.

My Review: This story is about Tessa who is a agoraphobia which is an intense fear of being in places where it is hard to escape. She is obsessed with pop star Eric Thorn. Eric Thorn is very on edge by how obsessed his fans are with him. A fellow pop star was killed by one of his crazed fans and Eric is worried the same thing is going to happen to him. He decides to create a fake Twitter where he pretends to be someone else. He tries to expose himself in a way that would get his fans to back off a bit. He decides to message Tessa because he created a story about him that blew up. At first he is very rude to Tessa but they form a friendship. There friendship begins to turn into something more. Eric never imagined this would happen.  Then one day things take a turn for the worst…

I have to say I didn’t really like this book at the beginning. I just felt it was very cheesy and over the top. I understand it’s suppose to show the crazy side of the entertainment business and how far some fans are willing to go for their favorite pop stars in an over the top way. I guess I just didn’t enjoy the writing. I felt the author would randomly throw in random media. I finally got into the book towards the end because that’s when you finally find out everything. The ending was the reason I gave it 3 stars to because I wasn’t expecting it. It really surprised me.

I did like how the story would go back and forth with time. The story starts off with a police transcript. The police transcripts represented the present and the end result. Then the story went to a therapy session with Tessa and her therapist which is the start of the story. It would go back and forth like this. It was very easy to understand and I was never confused about what was happening. I enjoyed reading the police transcripts. I thought that was a nice touch to the story. I feel this format is what made me continue reading. I was really interested to know what happened. I felt like getting those little peaks into the future helped a lot with me continuing to read the book.

I also really enjoyed the different perspectives. I always enjoy when books do that. I like knowing what each character is thinking.  You get the perspective of Tessa, Eric and then one more character later on. I enjoyed seeing how each of them thought of the situations they were in. You got to see both of their thoughts for everything that was going on.

Overall this was a decent book. I wasn’t into the writing and the story took a while for me to finally get into it. The ending was what really made the story because I didn’t see that coming. It’s shame it took me so long to get into the book. I’m pretty sure I’ll be checking out the next book that comes out because I wanna see what the ending was about.

Overall Rating: 3/5

*Thank you Netgalley for giving me a copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.”

1 thought on “Follow Me Back Review”

Leave a Reply

