Book Review: Every Day

49 Every Day

Every Day By David Levithan

Goodreads’ Synopsis: Every day a different body. Every day a different life. Every day in love with the same girl.
There’s never any warning about where it will be or who it will be. A has made peace with that, even established guidelines by which to live: Never get too attached. Avoid being noticed. Do not interfere.

It’s all fine until the morning that A wakes up in the body of Justin and meets Justin’s girlfriend, Rhiannon. From that moment, the rules by which A has been living no longer apply. Because finally A has found someone he wants to be with—day in, day out, day after day.

My Review: I went into this not knowing anything about the story.
I feel I’ve been doing that a lot lately with books since it makes this more of a surprise. This one turned out to be a bit of a disappointment.

I went into thinking the concept was super interesting. A wakes up everyday in the body of someone different. That is so cool! Imagine all the things you get to experience and see and people you meet. But of course right away a romance is introduced into the story. The first person you hear about A being is Justin. A ends up falling in love with his girlfriend and this is what the whole story is based off of. I just found it extremely frustrating because I wanted to know more about the people A became. They had some interesting stories and we just get A focusing on this one person. A always had to be with her and would do whatever to see her. I really wanted A to live the life of the person A was supposed to be for a day. There were some interesting people who I would have liked to experience.

I know there is another book to this story. I was tempted to read it because I am curious about how A became this way and I wonder if A can figure out the answers that need to be solved but the second book seems to take place during the same time just from a different person’s perspective but I don’t have any interest in that.

I did think the authors writing was half and half for me. Somethings I felt were really nicely written and highlighted and then other stuff was just interesting and I felt a bit forced. I guess also too there were somethings I didn’t agree with so I felt that impacted my views on the story.

I will not be continuing on with this story but I’m not giving up on this author because he did have some nice writing so I will be willing to check out some of his other work

Overall Rating: 2/5 stars

Leave a Reply

