Arc Review: One of Us is Lying

One of Us is LyingOne of Us is Lying By Karen M. McManus

Release Date: May 30th 2017

Goodreads Synopsis: One of Us Is Lying is the story of what happens when five strangers walk into detention and only four walk out alive. Everyone is a suspect, and everyone has something to hide.

Pay close attention and you might solve this.

On Monday afternoon, five students at Bayview High walk into detention.

Bronwyn, the brain, is Yale-bound and never breaks a rule.

Addy, the beauty, is the picture-perfect homecoming princess.

Nate, the criminal, is already on probation for dealing.

Cooper, the athlete, is the all-star baseball pitcher.

And Simon, the outcast, is the creator of Bayview High’s notorious gossip app.

Only, Simon never makes it out of that classroom. Before the end of detention Simon’s dead. And according to investigators, his death wasn’t an accident. On Monday, he died. But on Tuesday, he’d planned to post juicy reveals about all four of his high-profile classmates, which makes all four of them suspects in his murder. Or are they the perfect patsies for a killer who’s still on the loose?

Everyone has secrets, right? What really matters is how far you would go to protect them.

My Review: Okay so as soon as I heard about this book I knew I needed to get my hands on it somehow. It’s Breakfast Club with murder plus the website that spills everyone’s secrets gave me some Gossip Girl vibes as well. I was so happy when I saw Netgalley had it. Thankfully I ended up getting approved for it and I read it right away.

Wow I have to say this book met all my expectations. I was hooked on this book from the start. The author doesn’t waste any time getting to the death of Simon which I loved. I found myself not being able to put this book down because I was dying to know who was behind his death. Karen does an amazing job keeping you in suspense. I was always back and forth with who I thought was behind the murder. I really ended up enjoying that because it made the ending such a surprise.

I also really enjoyed the characters. They each were unique in their own ways. The whole time I was reading the book I really felt like I grew attached to these characters. One minute I was blaming them for the death of Simon the next I was telling myself they were too pure to have done something so cruel. I wanted to trust everyone and believe everything that they were saying. So it made it very difficult for me to put the blame on someone majority of the time.

I do have to say the one thing I didn’t enjoy about this book was the 4chan references. I feel like that is a silly thing to dislike but when I would read about it I kept having to tell myself how I’m pretty sure the author meant Reddit. That was in a couple parts in the book but it kinda took me out of the story for a second. I got right back into it though since it was just a small insight.

Overall I would highly recommend this book. It’s a great thriller that kept me guessing until the very end. It’s filled with a bunch of great characters. I didn’t want it to end. I seriously can’t wait to get a finished copy when it comes out.

Overall 4.5/5 stars

*Thank you Netgalley for providing me a free copy of this to review with my honest opinion. You seriously made me super happy.*

Leave a Reply

