In a Dark, Dark Wood Review

23783496In a Dark, Dark Wood By Ruth Ware

Goodreads Synopsis: What should be a cozy and fun-filled weekend deep in the English countryside takes a sinister turn in Ruth Ware’s suspenseful, compulsive, and darkly twisted psychological thriller.

Leonora, known to some as Lee and others as Nora, is a reclusive crime writer, unwilling to leave her “nest” of an apartment unless it is absolutely necessary. When a friend she hasn’t seen or spoken to in years unexpectedly invites Nora (Lee?) to a weekend away in an eerie glass house deep in the English countryside, she reluctantly agrees to make the trip. Forty-eight hours later, she wakes up in a hospital bed injured but alive, with the knowledge that someone is dead. Wondering not “what happened?” but “what have I done?”, Nora (Lee?) tries to piece together the events of the past weekend. Working to uncover secrets, reveal motives, and find answers, Nora (Lee?) must revisit parts of herself that she would much rather leave buried where they belong: in the past. My Review: So I randomly decided to read this because I noticed Ruth had recently come out with a new book called The Woman in Cabin 10, so I decided to put this on hold. That book has a lot of holds on it so I decided I would check out her first book which is this one. I wasn’t really sure what to expect. I like going into these books not really reading the description because I always feel that somewhat ruins the mystery of the book. I have to say the story did not disappoint at all.

So this book starts off with you in the dark. You’re seeing the point of view of the main character after everything has happened. Then the story begins to tell you how everything led up to that point. It does the whole back and forth with past and present which a lot of mystery books does. I really enjoyed the way Ruth told the story. I think I also really enjoyed it because there was a lot of drama and for most of the story you were left questioning certain things which had me dying for the answers. There were somethings I figured out but later on in the story I found myself second guessing what was the actual truth which I feel is what makes a mystery book so good. I don’t want to be able to guess right away who did it and then find out I was right. I mean I always am glad to say I figured it out but a good mystery book keeps you guessing until the very end and has you doubting yourself. I do however feel the clues were laid out and if I did pay a little closer attention when I read I might have been able to see the outcome but I couldn’t do that cause I was dying to know the outcome.

Overall I really enjoyed this book and would recommend. I’ve been having a tough time lately finding good mystery books and I’m glad I decided to pick this one up. There was a lot of suspense and me second guessing what the outcome was going to be. I really can’t wait to pick up Ruth’s next book.

Overall Rating: 4/5 Stars

Leave a Reply

