Cinder Review

CinderCinder By Marissa Meyer

Goodreads Synopsis: Sixteen-year-old Cinder is considered a technological mistake by most of society and a burden by her stepmother. Being cyborg does have its benefits, though: Cinder’s brain interference has given her an uncanny ability to fix things (robots, hovers, her own malfunctioning parts), making her the best mechanic in New Beijing. This reputation brings Prince Kai himself to her weekly market booth, needing her to repair a broken android before the annual ball. He jokingly calls it “a matter of national security,” but Cinder suspects it’s more serious than he’s letting on.
Although eager to impress the prince, Cinder’s intentions are derailed when her younger stepsister, and only human friend, is infected with the fatal plague that’s been devastating Earth for a decade. Blaming Cinder for her daughter’s illness, Cinder’s stepmother volunteers her body for plague research, an “honor” that no one has survived.
But it doesn’t take long for the scientists to discover something unusual about their new guinea pig. Something others would kill for.
My Review: So this is a series I heard a lot about and have been wanting to read for a while. I know it’s a super popular series so I was excited when my friend and I decided we would buddy read this. It ended up being a lot more enjoyable than I was expecting. I’ve already read Scarlet so a review of that will be up in a couple days.

So I have to say Cinder was a great retelling of Cinderella. I was sucked into the story right away. Every time I would read this I didn’t want to put the book down. Thankfully I was loyal to my buddy and I did my best not to read ahead. I know some people were saying that they found this book predictable. After finishing the book I could see how but it was something I just didn’t catch onto. I am happy I didn’t see the ending coming. I am a little upset with myself for missing it though. This made the story more enjoyable though.

Another thing I really enjoyed was the main character. I really loved Cinder. I really liked that she was a mechanic. I liked that spin on Cinderella. I also really enjoyed that she had a good relationship with one of her stepsisters. I know in the movie Cinderella both her stepsisters didn’t like her so that was a nice little surprise. Cinder was very caring and smart. I enjoyed that there ended up being a lot more to her and you slowly discovered it as the story went on.

Another thing I really enjoyed is that this was written in different perspectives. I always enjoy getting different characters perspectives. I feel it makes the story a lot more interesting and you get to see what things are happening one place and happening in another. It’s also nice to get the different character’s views about certain situations. I always feel like that was a plus. In this story you get to see the perspective of Cinder and of the prince. They both were had a lot on their plate to deal with so it was nice going back and forth between the two characters.

Overall, I really enjoyed this story. I ended up being hooked right away. I did not see that ending coming so it made the story even more enjoyable. I was dying to know what was going to happen next so I had to pick up Scarlet. I will have a review of Scarlet in the next couple days. I highly recommend you check this out if you’re into retellings and sci-fi. It was a super interesting combination.

Overall Rating: 5/5 Stars

Leave a Reply

