Scarlet Review

ScarletScarlet By Marissa Meyer

Goodreads Synopsis: Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison—even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive.

Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.

My Review: So I had just finished Cinder and I absolutely loved it. I needed to pick up Scarlet right away now and see what was going to happen next. I am sad to say Scarlet didn’t keep me wanting more the way Cinder did. It took me majority of the book to finally get into it. Cinder had me sucked in right from the start. I was worried I was the only one because so many people have told me the story only continues to get better. Thankfully my friend was feeling the same way about it. We weren’t as excited to read on like we were with Cinder.

I think the main reason was that the book started off with Scarlet. I know the book is named Scarlet so it should be mainly about her but I entered the book really confused. It starts with her trying to find her grandma and it took me a bit to realize oh this isn’t Cinder. I kinda wish the author started you off with a couple of Cinder chapters than eased into Scarlet. I didn’t really like reading about Scarlet. I didn’t find her that interesting. I was invested with Cinder because she had all these different things going on. Scarlet was just there to me.

Another thing I feel I didn’t like about this book was Scarlet and her relationship with Wolf. I don’t enjoy instalove stories and that is what their relationship is. I found myself not really caring what ended up happening between them. I also knew that Wolf was going to end up helping them no matter what because in one of the synopsis I read it said he would be helping so I was a little annoyed that was given away because he was all over the place. So most of the scenes with him later on weren’t really shocking to me because I knew what the outcome was going to be.

I do have to say I finally got into the book by about the third part. Finally when everything starts coming together. I was happy but also upset that it took so long to get to this point. I know the author needs to setup the story and can’t have the two characters just meet-up right away but I was dying for what felt was majority of the book. I thought it was such a shame that it took me so long to get into the book. My friend and I did a buddy read of this and we were almost about to give up on the series because we weren’t enjoying this one as much as the first book. I had to tell her not to give up and that things finally get interesting towards the end because we get to see more from the characters we had grown attached to in book 1.

I do have to admit before I started this story I did not know each book was going to be about a different person getting added on. I’m pretty sure I found out when I was looking at bookmarks somewhere and they had Lunar Chronicles and I noticed it said the names of the different books and there were 4 different bookmarks you could get. So I do have to admit that was a little bit of a surprise. I will be checking out Cress but I do hope I end up enjoying it more than Scarlet. I feel like this is a series I will end up finishing just because I really would like to see what the outcome is going to be. I just grew to love Cinder in the first book so it was a shame not to see so much of her in the second book.

Overall I thought Scarlet was an okay book. I think I didn’t enjoy it as much is because I didn’t really like Scarlet too much as a character. I felt myself wanting more Cinder story-line because I grew attached to her from the first book. I do have to say things finally got a lot better towards the end of the book. I thought it was a lot more exciting and had me dying to know what was going to happen next. I am very anxious to read Cress. I am waiting for my buddy to finish Scarlet to see if we are going to read it for our next buddy read. If not I will be continuing this on my own.

Overall Rating: 3/5 Stars


Have you read The Lunar Chronicles? Did you enjoy Scarlet or feel the same way about it? If you have finished the series what is your favorite book? (Without spoilers please.)

3 thoughts on “Scarlet Review

  1. I didn’t really like Scarlet as much as Cinder or the other books. I really liked Cress though because of Thorne — I just love his character to death. I hope you like the rest of the series !!!

    Like

    1. A lot of people were saying that it keeps getting better and then I read Scarlet and was like ehhh I don’t know about this but it finally got good at the end. I’m glad to hear you liked Cress. I’m looking forward to reading that soon.

      Like

Leave a Reply

