Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour Review

Amy and Roger's Epic DetourAmy & Roger’s Epic Detour By Morgan Matson

Goodread Synopsis: Amy Curry is not looking forward to her summer. Her mother decided to move across the country and now it’s Amy’s responsibility to get their car from California to Connecticut. The only problem is, since her father died in a car accident, she isn’t ready to get behind the wheel. Enter Roger. An old family friend, he also has to make the cross-country trip – and has plenty of baggage of his own. The road home may be unfamiliar – especially with their friendship venturing into uncharted territory – but together, Amy and Roger will figure out how to map their way.

My Review: So I’m a huge Morgan Matson fan as you can tell from my blog posts. I’ve read Since You Been Gone and I also read The Unexpected Everything. I decided in the month of May I was going to take part in the Month of Matson. Sadly that didn’t end up working out exactly as I planned. I wanted to read the two books of hers I never read plus reread the two I have. I only ended up reading one Morgan Matson book which is Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour. I always hear Morgan likes to put her old characters into the new books so I decided to start at the very beginning. I’m sad to say I didn’t love this book but I didn’t end up hating it either.

Honestly I didn’t really myself liking the main characters as much. They were just pretty boring to me. Nothing about them really stood out to me. I found myself liking minor characters a lot more. Bronwyn was one of Roger’s friends that they met along their detour. I thought she was such a positive character. I love how she barely knew Amy and here she was giving her all these clothes and helping her stand out more. I thought that was such a sweet thing to do for someone she barley knew. I really wanted her to be in the book more. Another minor character I liked was Lucien. He is Roger’s ex’s brother. He was so generous to Amy and Rogers and he didn’t even know them. He bought them dinner and let them stay in his house. He also helped Amy in a huge way. I really wanted him and Amy to end up together but from the cover you know what’s going to happen.

That’s another thing I wish wasn’t so obvious. You know from the cover alone that Amy and Roger were going to end up together. I wish it could have been a little bit more of a surprise. I know Morgan likes to throw in romance in her books but I wanted a little bit more of a surprise. It’s not that exciting when I end up knowing the outcome right from the very start. It takes away from the book.

I did end up enjoying the road trip aspect of the story. I loved that there were pictures of all the places they went to included. That was such a fun touch. It made me wanna get up and drop everything and go on my own little adventure. There were also playlists included in the book which was such a great touch. Driving for hours on end can be so boring so why not have a bunch of playlists to keep you entertained. I really need to get out and drive more so I can work on going on my own road trip. I think the greatest part of this book is that Morgan actually did this trip herself. She said she originally tried writing about it but was struggling because she hadn’t been to the places she talked about. So she decided she would go on a road trip to help her write the book. The pictures included in the book were pictures she took herself and I loved that. It was such a great touch.

Overall I thought this was a decent story. I am happy to have read it so now I can read the other ones and see these characters pop up and know who they are. The concept was a lot of fun and the pictures included added such a fun touch to the book. I feel like maybe in the future I will try this one again just to give it another shot.

Overall Rating: 3/5 Stars


Do you like to read Morgan Matson books? If so what is your favorite book by her? I really can’t wait to check out Second Chance Summer. That’s the last book of hers I haven’t read yet.

Leave a Reply

