Dark Matter Review

Dark MatterDark Matter By Blake Crouch

Goodreads Synopsis: “Are you happy with your life?”

Those are the last words Jason Dessen hears before the masked abductor knocks him unconscious.

Before he awakens to find himself strapped to a gurney, surrounded by strangers in hazmat suits.

Before a man Jason’s never met smiles down at him and says, “Welcome back, my friend.”

In this world he’s woken up to, Jason’s life is not the one he knows. His wife is not his wife. His son was never born. And Jason is not an ordinary college physics professor, but a celebrated genius who has achieved something remarkable. Something impossible.

Is it this world or the other that’s the dream? And even if the home he remembers is real, how can Jason possibly make it back to the family he loves? The answers lie in a journey more wondrous and horrifying than anything he could’ve imagined—one that will force him to confront the darkest parts of himself even as he battles a terrifying, seemingly unbeatable foe.

From the author of the bestselling Wayward Pines trilogy, Dark Matter is a brilliantly plotted tale that is at once sweeping and intimate, mind-bendingly strange and profoundly human—a relentlessly surprising science-fiction thriller about choices, paths not taken, and how far we’ll go to claim the lives we dream of. My Review: Well I’m sad to say it but this was one of those books I had to have cause of the hype. I’m sad to say that the it didn’t live up to the hype at least not for me. I was so excited to read it but I don’t know it fell flat for me.

I’m not sure really what it was about this book but I found myself zoning out a lot of the time. I honestly can’t tell you what happened during majority of the book. This is one of those I probably would have DNF but you read through it quickly that I decided to just go with it once I started. I know usually that’s a good thing when you can read through a book quickly but this was one of those situations where I would but I wouldn’t remember anything I read. I do have to say the beginning was interesting at first. I felt like there was a lot of action going on there and I can remember scenes from that but after that things became a blur. I remember telling my friend who just read the book I was interested to see what was going on. A lot of crazy stuff was happening but then I could barely remember anything.

I do have to say that I wish more things were explained. There were certain situations which were interesting but I wanted to know how they came to be. I didn’t get the explanations I was looking for and maybe that’s part of the reason this book wasn’t that great for me. I had all these questions but things would just happen and go on and that was really it. I was worried it would be technical but I felt it needed some technical aspects in it. At least in some way that I could understand what was happening.

I also felt like I didn’t care for the main character. I didn’t really like anything about him. There was nothing about him that stood out to me. Then the whole book is just him trying to get back to his life and find his wife and son. I mean I understand that but I wanted more out of the story.

Overall this book didn’t live up to the exceptions I had. I saw so many people gave it 5 stars but not every book is for everyone. I was a bit upset I didn’t like it but there really isn’t anything I could do. Thankfully it was a quick read so it flew by. I would say this should be a book you check out if it interests you just because so many people liked it.

Overall Rating: 2 out of 5 Stars


Have you read Dark Matter and if so did you enjoy it? What are some books that were hyped up but you felt were overhyped?

Leave a Reply

