Arc Review: Best Day Ever By Kaira Rouda

Best Day Ever

Best Day Ever By Kaira Rouda

Goodreads Synopsis: I glance at my wife as she climbs into the passenger seat, and I am bursting with confidence. Today will be everything I’ve promised her…and more…

Paul Strom has the perfect life: a glittering career as an advertising executive, a beautiful wife, two healthy boys and a big house in a wealthy suburb. And he’s the perfect husband: breadwinner, protector, provider. That’s why he’s planned a romantic weekend for his wife, Mia, at their lake house, just the two of them. And he’s promised today will be the best day ever.

But as Paul and Mia drive out of the city and toward the countryside, a spike of tension begins to wedge itself between them and doubts start to arise. How much do they trust each other? And how perfect is their marriage, or any marriage, really?

Forcing us to ask ourselves just how well we know those who are closest to us, Best Day Ever crackles with dark energy, spinning ever tighter toward its shocking conclusion. In the bestselling, page-turning vein of The Couple Next Door and The Dinner, Kaira Rouda weaves a gripping, tautly suspenseful tale of deception and betrayal dark enough to destroy a marriage…or a life.

Release Date: September 17th 2017My Review: So this was a book that I ended up getting from Book Con. I have to say it was a random line I stumbled upon. The whole thing was you go talk to a person and tell them what books you’re interested in and then they’ll give you a free arc. My friend and I had some time to kill before the next panel we were going to so why not. This was the book that was given to me. I have to say overall it was a pretty good find. I’m really happy I ended up receiving it.

I do have to say the story took a couple of chapters for me to get into. I didn’t want to give up because the guy had told me this was going to be a great read that I would end up finishing in a couple of hours. So I kept with it and have to say I overall really enjoyed the book. I love the whole concept of this. Majority of thrillers are told from the perspective of the wife so it was nice to see a change of pace. This book is told entirely from the point of view from the husband. So I right away didn’t want to put it down based on that fact alone. If you read a lot of thrillers then you know a lot of the times the husband has some part to do with what happens in the books. So it was super interesting that the whole story took place inside his head. It was nice to see his thoughts. I do also like  he would break the fourth wall from time to time and acknowledge that there was someone there reading what was happening. I enjoyed that.

I didn’t like Paul at all. I would read a lot of the things he would do and say and just basically shake my head like is this guy serious right now. Even though that’s the case I didn’t find myself getting as annoyed with him. I guess because he was the main character he grew on me and his words and actions were expected. The last book I just read had a horrible character in it who I just could not stand. I’m sure this would be Paul if the story was in the point of view of the wife. I feel like since it’s told in his point of view it’s different if that makes sense. I did not agree with anything Paul did in this book at all.

I know I said this book had a slow start but once things started to flow I was interested and found myself not wanting to put it down. When I got towards the end of the book things got very suspenseful and I was dying to know what was going to happen. I do have I really ended up enjoying the ending. I do wish we got there were a couple more things wrapped up in the end. Paul did some messed up things. Some of those things were mentioned but there were a couple that weren’t and I would have liked to know what happened with that.

I do have to say the only thing that threw me off a little bit was the writing. There were times I would read certain things Paul would say and you could tell it was more coming from a woman than a man. It didn’t kill the story for me though. I still enjoyed being inside Paul’s mind.

Overall I thought this was such an interesting twist on most thrillers that are focused on married couples. I really loved that you get to go inside the husband’s head. It was a nice way to switch things up. It ended up being an enjoyable and suspenseful journey. I will be checking out other books from this author. I would highly recommend checking this book out when it comes out in September.

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

2 thoughts on “Arc Review: Best Day Ever By Kaira Rouda

Leave a comment