Girl in Snow By Danya Kukafka

Hello everyone,

My name is Rimpy and I run a blog called Rimpy’s Reads (check it out if you don’t already!). I blog about everything from books I’m reading to shows I’m watching, as well as running a Read-a-Thon called Wonder Week Read-a-Thon! – This read-a-thon takes place every month or every other month so if you’d like to join in please do!

Anyways, Regina from Bookish in Bed and I decided to do a blog swap in which we would read the same novel and review it on each others blogs, so that’s what I’m doing for you today!

Today I am bringing to you a review for Girl in Snow by Danya Kukafka.


Goodreads Rating: 3.57/532920254
Pages: 368 pages
Publication Date: August 1st, 2017
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Genre: Mystery, Fiction, Thriller

Plot:
Who Are You When No One Is Watching?

When a beloved high schooler named Lucinda Hayes is found murdered, no one in her sleepy Colorado suburb is untouched—not the boy who loved her too much; not the girl who wanted her perfect life; not the officer assigned to investigate her murder. In the aftermath of the tragedy, these three indelible characters—Cameron, Jade, and Russ—must each confront their darkest secrets in an effort to find solace, the truth, or both.



I was thoroughly disappointed with this novel. I was expecting an intense thriller that would take me through the journey of finding this girls killer, but instead I was met with a novel that followed the lives of these three people more than the story of the girl who died.

This novel progressed so slowly for me, I had a very hard time getting through it. In addition to that, I was on a deadline to finish this novel, so pushing myself to finish it made it feel like legitimate torture.

The characters in this novel fell very flat for me. They were weird and so unlikable and I felt zero connection to them throughout the novel. The police officer’s relationship with his wife was weird and I really didn’t see how that was working. Cameron was a freak and I didn’t really understand why his character was important to the story at all, and Jade just sucked.

The writing in this novel was also something that I couldn’t really get behind. It didn’t hold anything that made me want to read more of Kukafka’s work.

I don’t even feel like talking about this story because it frustrated me so much. Instead of getting a novel that would keep me at the edge of my seat, I got a novel that made me want to fall asleep.

Additionally, I skimmed through most of the book after I realized that the entire thing was slow.

I apologize for the horrible and mean review, but this really wasn’t for me.

The cover was very nice though!


That concludes my review for Girl in Snow by Danya Kukafka!

Thank you so much for reading and if you’d like more of my posts please follow Rimpy’s Reads and @rimpysreads on Twitter!

Until next time,

Screen Shot 2017-07-13 at 11.29.32 PM Rimpy Toor
Blogger & Reviewer at Rimpy’s Reads

Blog | Twitter | Goodreads
e: rimpyreads@gmail.com
a: PO Box 99900 ZY 307 014
RPO Newton
Surrey BC, Canada
V3W 1A7
One thought on “Girl in Snow By Danya Kukafka

  1. I just finished this novel! I actually liked it. But I had read a few reviews before and knew it was not a thriller, so I guess it helps. Nice review though, very honest!

    Like

Leave a Reply

