Arc Review: Emma In the Night By Wendy Walker

Emma in the NightEmma in the Night By Wendy Walker

Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Fiction, Suspense
Pages: 320 pages
Published: August 8th 2017
Publisher: St. Martin’s Press
My Rating: 3.5 out of 5 Stars

Plot: One night three years ago, the Tanner sisters disappeared: fifteen-year-old Cass and seventeen-year-old Emma. Three years later, Cass returns, without her sister Emma. Her story is one of kidnapping and betrayal, of a mysterious island where the two were held. But to forensic psychiatrist Dr. Abby Winter, something doesn’t add up. Looking deep within this dysfunctional family Dr. Winter uncovers a life where boundaries were violated and a narcissistic parent held sway. And where one sister’s return might just be the beginning of the crime.

My Review: This is a book I’ve been seeing a good amount of people talk about. I have never read anything by Wendy Walker but I do have her other book All Is Not Forgotten on my TBR list. I have to say overall I really enjoyed this book.

So the story is about how three years ago two sisters ended up disappearing. Now we just discovered that one has returned back home and we’re trying to figure out what happened to them and where the other sister is. Right away I was intrigued and I was dying to know what happened those three years ago.

One thing that I really enjoyed is the author talks about narcissist personality disorder which I didn’t know was even a thing. I’ve studied psychology in the past but that was never something I learned about. I enjoyed that I was learning about something new without really realizing it. You get to learn about how the person is with narcissist personality disorder. You get to see how it affects the people around the person with narcissist personality disorder. You even learn about how it might carry over to the children of the person with narcissist personality disorder. So that was super interesting and a fun way to learn about it.

One thing I did not like about the story is that it ended up getting pretty repetitive. The author gives you two different perspectives. The first one is the one sister who just returned, Cassandra and the other is from Dr. Winter the psychologist working on the case. I usually love when you end up getting different perspectives from stories but this didn’t do it for me especially in the beginning. I felt majority of the time one narrator would tell you something and then it would end up getting repeated in the next narrator’s perspective. I love when authors do different perspectives because I love getting to see what each person is thinking but not when you’re being told the same thing twice. I do have to say the two different characters were very unreliable so they were always second guessing each other which really kept me reading. I wanted to get down to the truth of what happened.

The one thing that made me continue reading the book was I needed to know how it ended. I do have to say that was well worth the wait. I was completely shocked by the ending. I did not end up seeing that coming. I honestly can’t wait to read Wendy’s other book to see what other twists she has up her sleeves.

*I would like to thank Netgalley for giving me a free copy of the E-Arc for this book for my complete and honest opinion.*


Have you guys read this book? If so I would love to hear what you thought of it.

4 thoughts on “Arc Review: Emma In the Night By Wendy Walker

  1. I had the same thought when I read this book! I really wanted to know how it ended but I felt like there were large sections where I didn’t learn anything new. I just had the feeling something was off, probably because the psychologist was telling me so. In the end, I gave the book four stars just because, looking back the story seemed well constructed.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I almost gave it 4 stars but mainly didn’t because of how repetitive it started off. I really enjoyed the ending and was in complete shock. I honestly did not see that coming. It was very well constructed and did a great job at not being obvious.

      Like

Leave a Reply

