Arc Review: I Found You

I Found YouI Found You By Lisa Jewell

Genre: Mystery, Fiction, Thriller, Suspense,
Pages: 352pages
Published: April 25th 2017
Publisher: Atria Books
My Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

Plot: A young bride, a lonely single mother, and an amnesiac man of dubious origin lie at the heart of New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jewell’s next suspenseful drama that will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty and Paula Hawkins.

In a windswept British seaside town, single mom Alice Lake finds a man sitting on the beach outside her house. He has no name, no jacket, and no idea how he got there. Against her better judgment, she invites him inside.

Meanwhile, in a suburb of London, twenty-one-year-old Lily Monrose has only been married for three weeks. When her new husband fails to come home from work one night she is left stranded in a new country where she knows no one. Then the police tell her that her husband never existed.

Twenty-three years earlier, Gray and Kirsty are teenagers on a summer holiday with their parents. Their annual trip to the quaint seaside town is passing by uneventfully, until an enigmatic young man starts paying extra attention to Kirsty. Something about him makes Gray uncomfortable—and it’s not just that he’s playing the role of protective older brother.

Two decades of secrets, a missing husband, and a man with no memory are at the heart of this brilliant new novel, filled with the “beautiful writing, believable characters, pacey narrative, and dark secrets” (London Daily Mail) that make Lisa Jewell so beloved by audiences on both sides of the Atlantic.

I’ve never read any books by Lisa Jewell before. I decided to pick this book up because of a review I read about it. It sounded really interesting. Plus I love discovering new authors. Well was it worth checking out, let’s find out.

Yes this book was worth picking up. This book does everything I love in a thriller/mystery book. There were different points of views. There was back and forth between past and present. Lastly there was plenty of suspense. I did not see anything coming.

First off I really enjoyed the different point of views. You get Alice who is a single Mom. She discovers this man on the beach by her house. This man is another character who lost his memory and he has no idea who he is. The last character whose point of view you read about is Lily. Lily is recently married and new to the country. She knows nobody. I loved reading these characters point of views. They’re so different from each other. Alice was my favorite because she risked taking this man. She knows nothing about him but she decides to help this man out. In the past I’ve said I always enjoy different perspectives because I love seeing how each person is dealing with the current situation.

The next part I really enjoyed shows up in part two. In part two, the author decides to start going between the past and the present. I feel this can always be hit or miss. I was a little skeptical about it first. Thankfully it didn’t take me long to get into it. I found myself guessing and trying to figure out the ending.

Lastly I really enjoyed the suspense. Right away I was hooked from the start. I didn’t want to put this book down. I ended up staying up way past my bedtime to finish this book. I couldn’t wait to know what was going to happen. I had my guesses and couldn’t wait to see what was right and what was wrong.

Overall this was such a great read. I would highly recommend it. Lisa knows how to reel you in right from the start. She’s a great storyteller and really surprised me. I can’t wait to check out more of her books in the future.

*Thank you so much Netgalley for giving me a free copy of this book for my honest opinion.*


 

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Arc Review: I Found You

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s