Book Review: Genuine Fraud

Genuine FraudGenuine Fraud By E. Lockhart

Genre: Young Adult, Mystery, Contemporary, Fiction, Thriller
Pages: 272 pages
Published: September 5th 2017
Publisher: Delacorte Press
My Rating: 2 out of 5 Stars

Plot: The story of a young woman whose diabolical smarts are her ticket into a charmed life. But how many times can someone reinvent themselves? You be the judge.

Imogen is a runaway heiress, an orphan, a cook, and a cheat.
Jule is a fighter, a social chameleon, and an athlete.
An intense friendship. A disappearance. A murder, or maybe two.
A bad romance, or maybe three.
Blunt objects, disguises, blood, and chocolate. The American dream, superheroes, spies, and villains.
A girl who refuses to give people what they want from her.
A girl who refuses to be the person she once was.


My Review: I’ve attempted to read E. Lockhart’s, We Were Liars, a couple times in the past. I couldn’t get into it at all. When I heard she was writing another book I decided to give her another chance. Was it worth it? Let’s find out.

I actually ended up getting a little bit into this book. I guess mainly because I was confused at first and I wanted to know more. Then I ended up spending about 100 pages being confused. The story is told from end to beginning which I’ve seen in books a couple times. I feel like end to beginning is not the format for me. It’s very unique and I enjoyed that she tried to do something different but for half of the book I didn’t know what was happening.

Another thing I didn’t really enjoy about this book was the characters. I felt they were all very bland. I didn’t care about any of them and I feel that kills a story for me. I wasn’t rooting for anyone and I didn’t find myself caring about what was going to happen to them. There also wasn’t any development of these characters. After I finish the book, I realized they were the same people from beginning to end.

Lastly I didn’t like that there wasn’t any suspense in this book. It’s suppose to be a mystery but I didn’t feel that way. I felt after reading a bit you could figure out what happened. When the reveal came I wasn’t shocked.

I decided to give this book two stars because even though I didn’t enjoy the story and I wasn’t shocked. I still felt the idea was unique because it ended up being told from the end to the beginning. I did like how she was trying to do something different in the genre. I just feel like E. Lockhart isn’t the author for me.


 

Advertisements

Arc Review: I Found You

I Found YouI Found You By Lisa Jewell

Genre: Mystery, Fiction, Thriller, Suspense,
Pages: 352pages
Published: April 25th 2017
Publisher: Atria Books
My Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

Plot: A young bride, a lonely single mother, and an amnesiac man of dubious origin lie at the heart of New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jewell’s next suspenseful drama that will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty and Paula Hawkins.

In a windswept British seaside town, single mom Alice Lake finds a man sitting on the beach outside her house. He has no name, no jacket, and no idea how he got there. Against her better judgment, she invites him inside.

Meanwhile, in a suburb of London, twenty-one-year-old Lily Monrose has only been married for three weeks. When her new husband fails to come home from work one night she is left stranded in a new country where she knows no one. Then the police tell her that her husband never existed.

Twenty-three years earlier, Gray and Kirsty are teenagers on a summer holiday with their parents. Their annual trip to the quaint seaside town is passing by uneventfully, until an enigmatic young man starts paying extra attention to Kirsty. Something about him makes Gray uncomfortable—and it’s not just that he’s playing the role of protective older brother.

Two decades of secrets, a missing husband, and a man with no memory are at the heart of this brilliant new novel, filled with the “beautiful writing, believable characters, pacey narrative, and dark secrets” (London Daily Mail) that make Lisa Jewell so beloved by audiences on both sides of the Atlantic. Continue reading “Arc Review: I Found You”

Book Review: Hunting Prince Dracula

Hunting Prince DraculaHunting Prince Dracula By Kerri Maniscalco

Genre: Young Adult, Mystery, Historical, Horror
Pages: 448 pages
Published: September 19th 2017
Publisher: Jimmy Patterson
My Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

Plot: Bone white. Blood red. Along this path, you’ll soon be dead.

Following the horrifying revelation of Jack the Ripper’s true identity, Audrey Rose Wadsworth flees her home in Victorian London to enroll as the only female student in Europe’s most prestigious forensics school. But it’s impossible to find peace in the dark, unsettling Romanian castle that houses the school—and was also once home to the depraved Vlad the Impaler, otherwise known as Prince Dracula.

When a series of troubling deaths brings whispers of Vlad’s bloodthirsty return from the grave, Audrey Rose and her sharp-witted companion, Thomas Cresswell, must unravel the cryptic clues that will lead them to the shadowlike killer—living or dead. Continue reading “Book Review: Hunting Prince Dracula”

Book Review: Summer House with Swimming Pool by Herman Koch

Summer House with Swimming PoolSummer House with Swimming Pool By Herman Koch

Genre: Fiction, Mystery, Contemporary, Thriller
Pages: 387 pages
Published: April 28th 2015
Publisher: Hogarth
My Rating: 3.5 out of 5 Stars

Plot: When a medical procedure goes horribly wrong and famous actor Ralph Meier winds up dead, Dr. Marc Schlosser needs to come up with some answers. After all, reputation is everything in this business. Personally, he’s not exactly upset that Ralph is gone, but as a high profile doctor to the stars, Marc can’t hide from the truth forever.

It all started the previous summer. Marc, his wife, and their two beautiful teenage daughters agreed to spend a week at the Meiers’ extravagant summer home on the Mediterranean. Joined by Ralph and his striking wife Judith, her mother, and film director Stanley Forbes and his much younger girlfriend, the large group settles in for days of sunshine, wine tasting, and trips to the beach. But when a violent incident disrupts the idyll, darker motivations are revealed, and suddenly no one can be trusted. As the ultimate holiday soon turns into a nightmare, the circumstances surrounding Ralph’s later death begin to reveal the disturbing reality behind that summer’s tragedy.

Continue reading “Book Review: Summer House with Swimming Pool by Herman Koch”