Book Review: Second Life

Second LifeSecond Life By S.J. Watson

Genre: Thriller, Fiction, Mystery, Suspense
Pages: 402 pages
Published: June 9th 2015
Publisher: Harper

Plot: The sensational new psychological thriller from the bestselling author of Before I Go To Sleep …She loves her husband. She’s obsessed by a stranger. She’s a devoted mother. She’s prepared to lose everything. She knows what she’s doing. She’s out of control. She’s innocent. She’s guilty as sin. She’s living two lives. She might lose both …
Continue reading “Book Review: Second Life”

Advertisements

Arc Review: Poison

PoisonPoison By Galt Niederhoffer

Genre: Thriller, Mystery,
Pages: 320 pages
Published: November 21st 2017
Publisher: St. Martin’s Press

Plot: Poison is a literary psychological thriller about a marriage that follows minor betrayal into a bubbling stew of lies, cruelty, manipulation, and danger.

Cass and Ryan Connor have achieved family nirvana. With three kids between them, a cat and a yard, a home they built and feathered, they seem to have the Modern Family dream. Their family, including Cass’ two children from previous relationships, has recently moved to Portland —a new start for their new lives. Cass and Ryan have stable, successful careers, and they are happy. But trouble begins almost imperceptibly. First with small omissions and white lies that happen daily in any marital bedroom. They seem insignificant, but they are quickly followed by a series of denials and feints that mushroom and then cyclone in menace.

With life-or-death stakes and irreversible consequences, Poison is a chilling and irresistible reminder that the closest bond designed to protect and provide for each other and for children can change in a minute.

Continue reading “Arc Review: Poison”

Book Review: You

YouYou By Caroline Kepnes

Genre: Thriller, Fiction, Contemporary, Mystery, Adult, Suspense
Pages: 422pages
Published: September 25th 2014
Publisher: Atria/ Emily Bestler Books

Plot: When a beautiful, aspiring writer strides into the East Village bookstore where Joe Goldberg works, he does what anyone would do: he Googles the name on her credit card.

There is only one Guinevere Beck in New York City. She has a public Facebook account and Tweets incessantly, telling Joe everything he needs to know: she is simply Beck to her friends, she went to Brown University, she lives on Bank Street, and she’ll be at a bar in Brooklyn tonight—the perfect place for a “chance” meeting.

As Joe invisibly and obsessively takes control of Beck’s life, he orchestrates a series of events to ensure Beck finds herself in his waiting arms. Moving from stalker to boyfriend, Joe transforms himself into Beck’s perfect man, all while quietly removing the obstacles that stand in their way—even if it means murder.

Continue reading “Book Review: You”

Blog Tour & Book Review: The Wife Between Us

The Wife Between UsThe Wife Between Us By Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen

Genre: Thriller, Suspense, Mystery, Fiction
Pages: 352 pages
Publication Date: January 9th 2017
Publisher: St. Martin’s Press

Plot: A novel of suspense that explores the complexities of marriage and the dangerous truths we ignore in the name of love.

When you read this book, you will make many assumptions.
You will assume you are reading about a jealous wife and her obsession with her replacement.
You will assume you are reading about a woman about to enter a new marriage with the man she loves.
You will assume the first wife was a disaster and that the husband was well rid of her.
You will assume you know the motives, the history, the anatomy of the relationships.
Assume nothing.

Discover the next blockbuster novel of suspense, and get ready for the read of your life. Continue reading “Blog Tour & Book Review: The Wife Between Us”

Book Review: Little Monsters

Little MonstersLittle Monsters By Kara Thomas

Genre: Young Adult, Mystery, Thriller, Contemporary,
Pages: 336 pages
Published: July 25th 2017
Publisher: Delacorte Press

Plot: Kacey is the new girl in Broken Falls. When she moved in with her father, she stepped into a brand-new life. A life with a stepbrother, a stepmother, and strangest of all, an adoring younger half sister.

Kacey’s new life is eerily charming compared with the wild highs and lows of the old one she lived with her volatile mother. And everyone is so nice in Broken Falls—she’s even been welcomed into a tight new circle of friends. Bailey and Jade invite her to do everything with them.

Which is why it’s so odd when they start acting distant. And when they don’t invite her to the biggest party of the year, it doesn’t exactly feel like an accident.

But Kacey will never be able to ask, because Bailey never makes it home from that party. Suddenly, Broken Falls doesn’t seem so welcoming after all—especially once everyone starts looking to the new girl for answers.

Kacey is about to learn some very important lessons: Sometimes appearances can be deceiving. Sometimes when you’re the new girl, you shouldn’t trust anyone.

Continue reading “Book Review: Little Monsters”

Arc Review: Silent Lies

Silent LiesSilent Lies By Kathryn Croft

Genre: Mystery, Fiction, and Thriller
Pages: 309 pages
Published: October 25th
Publisher: Bookouture
Plot: ‘Your husband didn’t kill himself.’
Five years rebuilding your life. Five words will destroy it again.

Mia Hamilton lived the perfect life with her husband, university teacher Zach, and their two-year-old daughter, Freya. But everything changed when Zach committed suicide on the same night one of his students, Josie Carpenter, vanished.

Five years later, and Josie is still missing but Mia has finally found some happiness with new boyfriend Will.

Until one day when stranger Alison walks into her life and tells Mia that her husband didn’t kill himself.

Desperate to find out what really happened to Zach, Mia is forced to put her trust in Alison. But she soon discovers that Alison has her own agenda behind exposing the details of Zach’s death. Can Mia really believe anything Alison says?

Mia must decide how far she is willing to go to uncover the truth – even if she risks losing everything she loves.

Continue reading “Arc Review: Silent Lies”

Spookathon 2017

Hey everyone. I’m sorry for barely posting last week. I was feeling really drained so I ended up only writing one post. 😦  In the last week I decided to take part in Spookathon. Spookathon is a week long readathon that went from October 16th to October 22. It’s hosted by Lala, Paige, and Shannon. They started it last year. I am so happy I decided to participate this year! Now let’s hear how it went! Continue reading “Spookathon 2017”

Book Review: Genuine Fraud

Genuine FraudGenuine Fraud By E. Lockhart

Genre: Young Adult, Mystery, Contemporary, Fiction, Thriller
Pages: 272 pages
Published: September 5th 2017
Publisher: Delacorte Press
My Rating: 2 out of 5 Stars

Plot: The story of a young woman whose diabolical smarts are her ticket into a charmed life. But how many times can someone reinvent themselves? You be the judge.

Imogen is a runaway heiress, an orphan, a cook, and a cheat.
Jule is a fighter, a social chameleon, and an athlete.
An intense friendship. A disappearance. A murder, or maybe two.
A bad romance, or maybe three.
Blunt objects, disguises, blood, and chocolate. The American dream, superheroes, spies, and villains.
A girl who refuses to give people what they want from her.
A girl who refuses to be the person she once was.


My Review: I’ve attempted to read E. Lockhart’s, We Were Liars, a couple times in the past. I couldn’t get into it at all. When I heard she was writing another book I decided to give her another chance. Was it worth it? Let’s find out.

I actually ended up getting a little bit into this book. I guess mainly because I was confused at first and I wanted to know more. Then I ended up spending about 100 pages being confused. The story is told from end to beginning which I’ve seen in books a couple times. I feel like end to beginning is not the format for me. It’s very unique and I enjoyed that she tried to do something different but for half of the book I didn’t know what was happening.

Another thing I didn’t really enjoy about this book was the characters. I felt they were all very bland. I didn’t care about any of them and I feel that kills a story for me. I wasn’t rooting for anyone and I didn’t find myself caring about what was going to happen to them. There also wasn’t any development of these characters. After I finish the book, I realized they were the same people from beginning to end.

Lastly I didn’t like that there wasn’t any suspense in this book. It’s suppose to be a mystery but I didn’t feel that way. I felt after reading a bit you could figure out what happened. When the reveal came I wasn’t shocked.

I decided to give this book two stars because even though I didn’t enjoy the story and I wasn’t shocked. I still felt the idea was unique because it ended up being told from the end to the beginning. I did like how she was trying to do something different in the genre. I just feel like E. Lockhart isn’t the author for me.


 

Arc Review: I Found You

I Found YouI Found You By Lisa Jewell

Genre: Mystery, Fiction, Thriller, Suspense,
Pages: 352pages
Published: April 25th 2017
Publisher: Atria Books
My Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

Plot: A young bride, a lonely single mother, and an amnesiac man of dubious origin lie at the heart of New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jewell’s next suspenseful drama that will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty and Paula Hawkins.

In a windswept British seaside town, single mom Alice Lake finds a man sitting on the beach outside her house. He has no name, no jacket, and no idea how he got there. Against her better judgment, she invites him inside.

Meanwhile, in a suburb of London, twenty-one-year-old Lily Monrose has only been married for three weeks. When her new husband fails to come home from work one night she is left stranded in a new country where she knows no one. Then the police tell her that her husband never existed.

Twenty-three years earlier, Gray and Kirsty are teenagers on a summer holiday with their parents. Their annual trip to the quaint seaside town is passing by uneventfully, until an enigmatic young man starts paying extra attention to Kirsty. Something about him makes Gray uncomfortable—and it’s not just that he’s playing the role of protective older brother.

Two decades of secrets, a missing husband, and a man with no memory are at the heart of this brilliant new novel, filled with the “beautiful writing, believable characters, pacey narrative, and dark secrets” (London Daily Mail) that make Lisa Jewell so beloved by audiences on both sides of the Atlantic. Continue reading “Arc Review: I Found You”

Book Review: Hunting Prince Dracula

Hunting Prince DraculaHunting Prince Dracula By Kerri Maniscalco

Genre: Young Adult, Mystery, Historical, Horror
Pages: 448 pages
Published: September 19th 2017
Publisher: Jimmy Patterson
My Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

Plot: Bone white. Blood red. Along this path, you’ll soon be dead.

Following the horrifying revelation of Jack the Ripper’s true identity, Audrey Rose Wadsworth flees her home in Victorian London to enroll as the only female student in Europe’s most prestigious forensics school. But it’s impossible to find peace in the dark, unsettling Romanian castle that houses the school—and was also once home to the depraved Vlad the Impaler, otherwise known as Prince Dracula.

When a series of troubling deaths brings whispers of Vlad’s bloodthirsty return from the grave, Audrey Rose and her sharp-witted companion, Thomas Cresswell, must unravel the cryptic clues that will lead them to the shadowlike killer—living or dead. Continue reading “Book Review: Hunting Prince Dracula”