My TBR For Thrillerathon

Hey guys! I am super excited to announce I will be participating in Thrillerathon this weekend. It takes place starting February 17th to February 24th. It is created by Harriet Rosie. I am so excited to be doing a readathon dedicated to thrillers! Here is a list of all the challenges for the readathon.

Thrillerathon Challenges.jpg

1. Read The Thriller You’re Most Anticipating: The Chalk Man By C.J. Tudor

2. Read The Thriller That’s Been On Your TBR The Longest: Human Remains By Elizabeth Haynes

3. Read The Thriller You Most Recently Added To Your TBR: People Like Us By Dana Mele

4. The Thriller With The Best Cover: The Favorite Sister By Jessica Knoll

5. Revist A Thriller Book Or Author: The Good Daughter By Karin Slaughter

Will you be participating in Thrillerathon? If so what books will you be reading for it?


January Wrap-up


Hey guys! I’m not sure what happened this January but I didn’t end up reading as many books as I would have liked. Thankfully in the last 2 weeks I ended up squeezing two books in. I didn’t really enjoy the books as much as I would have liked. I hope that February ends up being a better month for me. Now let’s see what I read in January. Continue reading “January Wrap-up”

Arc Review: Two Girls Down

Two Girls DownTwo Girls Down By Louisa Luna

Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Fiction, Suspense,
Pages: 322 pages
Published: January 9th 2018
Publisher: Doubleday

Plot: When two young sisters disappear from a strip mall parking lot in a small Pennsylvania town, their devastated mother hires an enigmatic bounty hunter, Alice Vega, to help find the girls. Immediately shut out by a local police department already stretched thin by budget cuts and the growing OxyContin and meth epidemic, Vega enlists the help of a disgraced former cop, Max Caplan. Cap is a man trying to put the scandal of his past behind him and move on, but Vega needs his help to find the girls, and she will not be denied.

With little to go on, Vega and Cap will go to extraordinary lengths to untangle a dangerous web of lies, false leads, and complex relationships to find the girls before time runs out, and they are gone forever. Continue reading “Arc Review: Two Girls Down”

Book Review: Defending Jacob

Defending JacobDefending Jacob By William Landay

Genre: Fiction, Mystery, Thriller, Suspense
Pages: 448 pages
Published: September 3rd 2013
Publisher: Bantam

Plot: Andy Barber has been an assistant district attorney for two decades. He is respected. Admired in the courtroom. Happy at home with the loves of his life: his wife, Laurie, and their teenage son, Jacob.

Then Andy’s quiet suburb is stunned by a shocking crime: a young boy stabbed to death in a leafy park. And an even greater shock: The accused is Andy’s own son—shy, awkward, mysterious Jacob.

Andy believes in Jacob’s innocence. Any parent would. But the pressure mounts. Damning evidence. Doubt. A faltering marriage. The neighbors’ contempt. A murder trial that threatens to obliterate Andy’s family.

It is the ultimate test for any parent: How far would you go to protect your child? It is a test of devotion. A test of how well a parent can know a child. For Andy Barber, a man with an iron will and a dark secret, it is a test of guilt and innocence in the deepest sense.

How far would you go?
Continue reading “Book Review: Defending Jacob”

Waiting On Wednesday: The Chalk Man

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine which spotlights highly anticipated upcoming releases.

The Chalk ManThe Chalk Man By C.J. Tudor

Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Fiction, Suspense
Pages: 280 pages
Published: January 9th 2018
Publisher: Crown Publishing Group

Plot: In 1986, Eddie and his friends are just kids on the verge of adolescence. They spend their days biking around their sleepy English village and looking for any taste of excitement they can get. The chalk men are their secret code: little chalk stick figures they leave for one another as messages only they can understand. But then a mysterious chalk man leads them right to a dismembered body, and nothing is ever the same.

In 2016, Eddie is fully grown and thinks he’s put his past behind him, but then he gets a letter in the mail containing a single chalk stick figure. When it turns out that his friends got the same message, they think it could be a prank–until one of them turns up dead. That’s when Eddie realizes that saving himself means finally figuring out what really happened all those years ago.

Why I Need This Book: I’ve been hearing amazing things about this book for a couple of months now. Just from the plot alone it sounds amazing. I saw Book of the Month had it for one of the books of December but I decided to wait until it’s release date. So I am super anxious about this book. I can’t wait to pick it up next week!

Have any of you guys gotten a chance to read this early? I would love to hear your thoughts on it. I seriously can’t wait to get my hands on it.

Arc Review: The Other Girl

The Other GirlThe Other Girl By Erica Spindler

Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Fiction, Suspense
Pages: 243 pages
Published: August 22nd 2017
Publisher: St. Martin’s Press

Plot: From the NYT bestselling author comes a chilling new thriller about a ritualistic murder of a college professor that sends a small town cop back into the trauma she thought she’d put behind her.

Officer Miranda Rader of the Hammond PD in Louisiana is known for her honesty, integrity, and steady hand in a crisis—but that wasn’t always so. Miranda comes from Jasper, just south of Hammond, a place about the size of a good spit on a hot day, and her side of the tracks was the wrong one. She’s worked hard to leave the girl she used to be behind and earn respect in her position as an officer.

However, when Miranda and her partner are called to investigate the murder of one of the town’s most beloved college professors, they’re unprepared for the gruesomeness of the scene. This murder is unlike any they’ve ever investigated, and just when Miranda thinks she’s seen the worst of it, she finds a piece of evidence that chills her to the core: a faded newspaper clipping about a terrible night from her long-buried past. Then another man turns up dead, this one a retired cop, and not just any cop—Clint Wheeler, the cop who took her statement that night. Two murders, two very different men, two killings that on the surface had nothing in common—except Miranda. 14 years ago.

And when her fingerprints turn up at the scene of the first murder, Miranda once again finds herself under the microscope, her honesty and integrity doubted, her motivations questioned. Alone again, the trust of her colleagues shattered, Miranda must try to trust the instincts she’s pushed down for so long, and decide what’s right—before it’s too late. Continue reading “Arc Review: The Other Girl”

Book Review: Second Life

Second LifeSecond Life By S.J. Watson

Genre: Thriller, Fiction, Mystery, Suspense
Pages: 402 pages
Published: June 9th 2015
Publisher: Harper

Plot: The sensational new psychological thriller from the bestselling author of Before I Go To Sleep …She loves her husband. She’s obsessed by a stranger. She’s a devoted mother. She’s prepared to lose everything. She knows what she’s doing. She’s out of control. She’s innocent. She’s guilty as sin. She’s living two lives. She might lose both …
Continue reading “Book Review: Second Life”

Book Review: You

YouYou By Caroline Kepnes

Genre: Thriller, Fiction, Contemporary, Mystery, Adult, Suspense
Pages: 422pages
Published: September 25th 2014
Publisher: Atria/ Emily Bestler Books

Plot: When a beautiful, aspiring writer strides into the East Village bookstore where Joe Goldberg works, he does what anyone would do: he Googles the name on her credit card.

There is only one Guinevere Beck in New York City. She has a public Facebook account and Tweets incessantly, telling Joe everything he needs to know: she is simply Beck to her friends, she went to Brown University, she lives on Bank Street, and she’ll be at a bar in Brooklyn tonight—the perfect place for a “chance” meeting.

As Joe invisibly and obsessively takes control of Beck’s life, he orchestrates a series of events to ensure Beck finds herself in his waiting arms. Moving from stalker to boyfriend, Joe transforms himself into Beck’s perfect man, all while quietly removing the obstacles that stand in their way—even if it means murder.

Continue reading “Book Review: You”

Blog Tour & Book Review: The Wife Between Us

The Wife Between UsThe Wife Between Us By Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen

Genre: Thriller, Suspense, Mystery, Fiction
Pages: 352 pages
Publication Date: January 9th 2017
Publisher: St. Martin’s Press

Plot: A novel of suspense that explores the complexities of marriage and the dangerous truths we ignore in the name of love.

When you read this book, you will make many assumptions.
You will assume you are reading about a jealous wife and her obsession with her replacement.
You will assume you are reading about a woman about to enter a new marriage with the man she loves.
You will assume the first wife was a disaster and that the husband was well rid of her.
You will assume you know the motives, the history, the anatomy of the relationships.
Assume nothing.

Discover the next blockbuster novel of suspense, and get ready for the read of your life. Continue reading “Blog Tour & Book Review: The Wife Between Us”

Arc Review: I Found You

I Found YouI Found You By Lisa Jewell

Genre: Mystery, Fiction, Thriller, Suspense,
Pages: 352pages
Published: April 25th 2017
Publisher: Atria Books
My Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

Plot: A young bride, a lonely single mother, and an amnesiac man of dubious origin lie at the heart of New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jewell’s next suspenseful drama that will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty and Paula Hawkins.

In a windswept British seaside town, single mom Alice Lake finds a man sitting on the beach outside her house. He has no name, no jacket, and no idea how he got there. Against her better judgment, she invites him inside.

Meanwhile, in a suburb of London, twenty-one-year-old Lily Monrose has only been married for three weeks. When her new husband fails to come home from work one night she is left stranded in a new country where she knows no one. Then the police tell her that her husband never existed.

Twenty-three years earlier, Gray and Kirsty are teenagers on a summer holiday with their parents. Their annual trip to the quaint seaside town is passing by uneventfully, until an enigmatic young man starts paying extra attention to Kirsty. Something about him makes Gray uncomfortable—and it’s not just that he’s playing the role of protective older brother.

Two decades of secrets, a missing husband, and a man with no memory are at the heart of this brilliant new novel, filled with the “beautiful writing, believable characters, pacey narrative, and dark secrets” (London Daily Mail) that make Lisa Jewell so beloved by audiences on both sides of the Atlantic. Continue reading “Arc Review: I Found You”