Book Review: Genuine Fraud

Genuine FraudGenuine Fraud By E. Lockhart

Genre: Young Adult, Mystery, Contemporary, Fiction, Thriller
Pages: 272 pages
Published: September 5th 2017
Publisher: Delacorte Press
My Rating: 2 out of 5 Stars

Plot: The story of a young woman whose diabolical smarts are her ticket into a charmed life. But how many times can someone reinvent themselves? You be the judge.

Imogen is a runaway heiress, an orphan, a cook, and a cheat.
Jule is a fighter, a social chameleon, and an athlete.
An intense friendship. A disappearance. A murder, or maybe two.
A bad romance, or maybe three.
Blunt objects, disguises, blood, and chocolate. The American dream, superheroes, spies, and villains.
A girl who refuses to give people what they want from her.
A girl who refuses to be the person she once was.


My Review: I’ve attempted to read E. Lockhart’s, We Were Liars, a couple times in the past. I couldn’t get into it at all. When I heard she was writing another book I decided to give her another chance. Was it worth it? Let’s find out.

I actually ended up getting a little bit into this book. I guess mainly because I was confused at first and I wanted to know more. Then I ended up spending about 100 pages being confused. The story is told from end to beginning which I’ve seen in books a couple times. I feel like end to beginning is not the format for me. It’s very unique and I enjoyed that she tried to do something different but for half of the book I didn’t know what was happening.

Another thing I didn’t really enjoy about this book was the characters. I felt they were all very bland. I didn’t care about any of them and I feel that kills a story for me. I wasn’t rooting for anyone and I didn’t find myself caring about what was going to happen to them. There also wasn’t any development of these characters. After I finish the book, I realized they were the same people from beginning to end.

Lastly I didn’t like that there wasn’t any suspense in this book. It’s suppose to be a mystery but I didn’t feel that way. I felt after reading a bit you could figure out what happened. When the reveal came I wasn’t shocked.

I decided to give this book two stars because even though I didn’t enjoy the story and I wasn’t shocked. I still felt the idea was unique because it ended up being told from the end to the beginning. I did like how she was trying to do something different in the genre. I just feel like E. Lockhart isn’t the author for me.


 

Advertisements

Arc Review: I Found You

I Found YouI Found You By Lisa Jewell

Genre: Mystery, Fiction, Thriller, Suspense,
Pages: 352pages
Published: April 25th 2017
Publisher: Atria Books
My Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

Plot: A young bride, a lonely single mother, and an amnesiac man of dubious origin lie at the heart of New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jewell’s next suspenseful drama that will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty and Paula Hawkins.

In a windswept British seaside town, single mom Alice Lake finds a man sitting on the beach outside her house. He has no name, no jacket, and no idea how he got there. Against her better judgment, she invites him inside.

Meanwhile, in a suburb of London, twenty-one-year-old Lily Monrose has only been married for three weeks. When her new husband fails to come home from work one night she is left stranded in a new country where she knows no one. Then the police tell her that her husband never existed.

Twenty-three years earlier, Gray and Kirsty are teenagers on a summer holiday with their parents. Their annual trip to the quaint seaside town is passing by uneventfully, until an enigmatic young man starts paying extra attention to Kirsty. Something about him makes Gray uncomfortable—and it’s not just that he’s playing the role of protective older brother.

Two decades of secrets, a missing husband, and a man with no memory are at the heart of this brilliant new novel, filled with the “beautiful writing, believable characters, pacey narrative, and dark secrets” (London Daily Mail) that make Lisa Jewell so beloved by audiences on both sides of the Atlantic. Continue reading “Arc Review: I Found You”

Arc Review: Emma In the Night By Wendy Walker

Emma in the NightEmma in the Night By Wendy Walker

Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Fiction, Suspense
Pages: 320 pages
Published: August 8th 2017
Publisher: St. Martin’s Press
My Rating: 3.5 out of 5 Stars

Plot: One night three years ago, the Tanner sisters disappeared: fifteen-year-old Cass and seventeen-year-old Emma. Three years later, Cass returns, without her sister Emma. Her story is one of kidnapping and betrayal, of a mysterious island where the two were held. But to forensic psychiatrist Dr. Abby Winter, something doesn’t add up. Looking deep within this dysfunctional family Dr. Winter uncovers a life where boundaries were violated and a narcissistic parent held sway. And where one sister’s return might just be the beginning of the crime. Continue reading “Arc Review: Emma In the Night By Wendy Walker”

Book Review: The Lying Game By Ruth Ware

The Lying GameThe Lying Game By Ruth Ware

Genre: Mystery, Fiction, Thriller, Adult, Suspense
Pages: 370 pages
Published: July 25th 2017
Publisher: Gallery/ Scout Press
My Rating: 3.5 out of 5 Stars

Plot: On a cool June morning, a woman is walking her dog in the idyllic coastal village of Salten along a tidal estuary known as the Reach. Before she can stop him, the dog charges into the water to retrieve what first appears to be a wayward stick, but to her horror, turns out to be something much more sinister…

The next morning, three women in and around London—Fatima, Thea, and Isabel—receive the text they had always hoped would NEVER come, from the fourth in their formerly inseparable clique, Kate, that says only, “I need you.”

The four girls were best friends at Salten, a second rate boarding school set near the cliffs of the English Channel. Each different in their own way, the four became inseparable and were notorious for playing the Lying Game, telling lies at every turn to both fellow boarders and faculty, with varying states of serious and flippant nature that were disturbing enough to ensure that everyone steered clear of them. The myriad and complicated rules of the game are strict: no lying to each other—ever. Bail on the lie when it becomes clear it is about to be found out. But their little game had consequences, and the girls were all expelled in their final year of school under mysterious circumstances surrounding the death of the school’s eccentric art teacher, Ambrose (who also happens to be Kate’s father).

Continue reading “Book Review: The Lying Game By Ruth Ware”

Arc Review: The Red Hunter By Lisa Unger

The Red HunterThe Red Hunter By Lisa Unger

Genre: Thriller, Mystery, Suspense, Fiction
Pages: 359 pages
Published: April 25th 2017
Publisher: Touchstone
My Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

Plot: Claudia Bishop’s perfect life fell apart when the aftermath of a brutal assault left her with a crumbling marriage, a newborn daughter, and a constant sense of anxiety about the world around her. Now, looking for a fresh start with a home restoration project and growing blog, Claudia takes on a crumbling old house–one that unbeknownst to her has an ugly history and may hide long buried secrets.

For Zoey Drake the defining moment of her childhood was the horrific murder of her parents. Years later, she has embraced the rage that fuels her. Training in the martial arts has made her strong and ready to face the demons from the past–and within.

Strangers to each other, and walking very different paths in the wake of trauma, these two women are on a collision course–because Zoey’s past nightmare and Claudia’s dreams for her future take place in the same house. As Zoey seeks justice, and Claudia seeks peace, both will confront the terrifying monsters at the door.
Continue reading “Arc Review: The Red Hunter By Lisa Unger”

Arc Review: The Breakdown

The BreakdownThe Breakdown By B.A. Paris

Genre: Thriller, Mystery, Fiction, Suspense
Pages: 328 pages
Published: July 18th 2017
Publisher: St. Martin’s Press
My Rating: 4 out of 5 Stars

Plot: If you can’t trust yourself, who can you trust?

Cass is having a hard time since the night she saw the car in the woods, on the winding rural road, in the middle of a downpour, with the woman sitting inside―the woman who was killed. She’s been trying to put the crime out of her mind; what could she have done, really? It’s a dangerous road to be on in the middle of a storm. Her husband would be furious if he knew she’d broken her promise not to take that shortcut home. And she probably would only have been hurt herself if she’d stopped.

But since then, she’s been forgetting every little thing: where she left the car, if she took her pills, the alarm code, why she ordered a pram when she doesn’t have a baby.

The only thing she can’t forget is that woman, the woman she might have saved, and the terrible nagging guilt.

Or the silent calls she’s receiving, or the feeling that someone’s watching her… Continue reading “Arc Review: The Breakdown”