Spookathon 2017

Hey everyone. I’m sorry for barely posting last week. I was feeling really drained so I ended up only writing one post. 😦  In the last week I decided to take part in Spookathon. Spookathon is a week long readathon that went from October 16th to October 22. It’s hosted by Lala, Paige, and Shannon. They started it last year. I am so happy I decided to participate this year! Now let’s hear how it went! Continue reading “Spookathon 2017”

Advertisements

Down The TBR Hole #11

Web

Hey guys!! This is Down The TBR Hole which was created by the lovely Lost In A Story. Wow I am up to my 11th post of this. My TBR continues to grow. I added a couple of new books in the last couple days. Hopefully I can get rid of some more this week. Let’s dive in and see!

  • Go to your goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 if you’re feeling adventurous) books
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go?

The fact that I  will be repeating this process every week means that I have to keep track of where I ended and where I’m going to continue. E.g. in week one I do book 1 – 5, in week two book 6 – 10, and so on, until I’ve filtered out my entire TBR. Continue reading “Down The TBR Hole #11”

It’s My Birthday

birthday ecardHey guys so I decided that today’s post is going to be a non-bookish one. Today is my 25th birthday. I can’t believe I’m 25. I honestly can’t believe it’s my birthday. It feels like yesterday that I still had a couple months to go. Not only is it my birthday but it’s Friday the 13th. I enjoy sharing my birthday with such a creepy day. Plus on Netflix there is a new show about serial killers called Mindhunter. I’m super excited to check that out, I hope it’s good!

So I’m super excited for today. I plan on getting my makeup done at Sephora in the morning. After that I’m stopping at Barnes and Nobles. I mean there is one right by the Sephora so I really can’t pass this up. Then later my boyfriend is taking me out to dinner at a surprise restaurant. I’m super excited for that. Then tomorrow I’ll be celebrating with my friends at the bar. So I’m excited for the next couple days.

I honestly would just like to take this time to thank all you guys in the community! I’m so thankful for you all. You guys motivate me to keep blogging. I also have found so many amazing new books from you guys. I just love being around people who love to talk about books as much as I do. Plus I’ve made some amazing friends in this community. I hope to continue to make even more friends as the months go on.


Since I’ll be hitting up Barnes and Nobles today, do you guys have any suggestion on what I should buy? Feel free to give me some recommendations. You guys know I love my thrillers, so many some lesser known ones you enjoy. I am leaning towards getting a Stephen King book. Maybe Gerald’s Game or Pet Cemetery. I also was thinking about getting The Snowman By Jo Nesbo.

Down the TBR Hole # 10

Web

Hey guys!! This is Down The TBR Hole which was created by the lovely Lost In A Story. I am finally up to my 10th one! I was hoping to be under 700 books but that’s not the case. I hope by the 20th one I get under. Now let’s dive in to my list.

  • Go to your goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 if you’re feeling adventurous) books
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go?

The fact that I  will be repeating this process every week means that I have to keep track of where I ended and where I’m going to continue. E.g. in week one I do book 1 – 5, in week two book 6 – 10, and so on, until I’ve filtered out my entire TBR. Continue reading “Down the TBR Hole # 10”

September Book Haul

Hey guys!! I decided to go through all the books I got in September. It turns out I ended up getting a lot more than I expected. So I decided to post about my haul. Majority of these I ended up not paying for. I think only 5 of them I actually bought. The rest I won in giveaways, some from when my friend sent me a Nocturnal Readers box, and lastly some from B-fest. So let’s see what books I got last month. Continue reading “September Book Haul”

Blog Tour: Sublime Karma | Excerpt & Giveaway

SUBLIME KARMA blog banner

SUBLIME KARMA HIgh ResAbout the Book:

Title: SUBLIME KARMA

Author: Peyton Garver

Pub. Date: May 28, 2017

Publisher: Soul Mate Publishing

Pages: 302

Formats: Paperback eBook

Find it: AmazonB&NTBDGoodreads

Plot: When Brie’s stepfather moves the family for what he calls a new beginning, it’s not the new beginning the beautiful, yet guarded, senior would have hoped for. Brie is instantly targeted by jealous girls at her new school, and the only available seat on her bus is next to the school’s star wide receiver, Jake, who for some reason, finds her offensive. After a humiliating article and picture of Brie is posted in the online school journal, a demon she thought she’d overcome resurfaces, and her life unravels. A newly compassionate Jake has finally taken an interest in her, but can Brie learn to trust her heart, or will she miss out on the best thing that ever happened to her?
Jake has his own secrets and has built his own walls, but eventually his curiosity about the new girl gets the best of him. Unfortunately, now there is competition: the captain of her cross-country team. Jake’s romantic histories with the girl next door and the school’s queen bee, adds tension to a simmering tempest when all he wants is Brie. Is he strong enough to help the one he loves weave sense into her crumbling new reality while overcoming his own tainted past? This is an edgy YA with issues of bullying, self harm, and attempted suicide…with an HEA ending.  

Continue reading “Blog Tour: Sublime Karma | Excerpt & Giveaway”

September Wrap-up

monthly-wrap-up

I finally posted all my September reviews. So now it’s time for my September Wrap-up. I ended up in a little bit of a reading slump during the month of September. I didn’t end up reading as many books as I had planned. I did have some really good reads. I hope for October I can read more than 5 books. I’ve already finished 2 books. I hope I can keep this up. Now let’s get to the books I read in September. Continue reading “September Wrap-up”

Down the TBR Hole #9

Web

Hey guys!! This is Down The TBR Hole which was created by the lovely Lost In A Story. Wow I can’t believe I am almost on my 10th post of this. It’s been such a fun journey.

  • Go to your goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 if you’re feeling adventurous) books
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go?

The fact that I  will be repeating this process every week means that I have to keep track of where I ended and where I’m going to continue. E.g. in week one I do book 1 – 5, in week two book 6 – 10, and so on, until I’ve filtered out my entire TBR. Continue reading “Down the TBR Hole #9”

Book Review: Genuine Fraud

Genuine FraudGenuine Fraud By E. Lockhart

Genre: Young Adult, Mystery, Contemporary, Fiction, Thriller
Pages: 272 pages
Published: September 5th 2017
Publisher: Delacorte Press
My Rating: 2 out of 5 Stars

Plot: The story of a young woman whose diabolical smarts are her ticket into a charmed life. But how many times can someone reinvent themselves? You be the judge.

Imogen is a runaway heiress, an orphan, a cook, and a cheat.
Jule is a fighter, a social chameleon, and an athlete.
An intense friendship. A disappearance. A murder, or maybe two.
A bad romance, or maybe three.
Blunt objects, disguises, blood, and chocolate. The American dream, superheroes, spies, and villains.
A girl who refuses to give people what they want from her.
A girl who refuses to be the person she once was.


My Review: I’ve attempted to read E. Lockhart’s, We Were Liars, a couple times in the past. I couldn’t get into it at all. When I heard she was writing another book I decided to give her another chance. Was it worth it? Let’s find out.

I actually ended up getting a little bit into this book. I guess mainly because I was confused at first and I wanted to know more. Then I ended up spending about 100 pages being confused. The story is told from end to beginning which I’ve seen in books a couple times. I feel like end to beginning is not the format for me. It’s very unique and I enjoyed that she tried to do something different but for half of the book I didn’t know what was happening.

Another thing I didn’t really enjoy about this book was the characters. I felt they were all very bland. I didn’t care about any of them and I feel that kills a story for me. I wasn’t rooting for anyone and I didn’t find myself caring about what was going to happen to them. There also wasn’t any development of these characters. After I finish the book, I realized they were the same people from beginning to end.

Lastly I didn’t like that there wasn’t any suspense in this book. It’s suppose to be a mystery but I didn’t feel that way. I felt after reading a bit you could figure out what happened. When the reveal came I wasn’t shocked.

I decided to give this book two stars because even though I didn’t enjoy the story and I wasn’t shocked. I still felt the idea was unique because it ended up being told from the end to the beginning. I did like how she was trying to do something different in the genre. I just feel like E. Lockhart isn’t the author for me.


 

Arc Review: I Found You

I Found YouI Found You By Lisa Jewell

Genre: Mystery, Fiction, Thriller, Suspense,
Pages: 352pages
Published: April 25th 2017
Publisher: Atria Books
My Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

Plot: A young bride, a lonely single mother, and an amnesiac man of dubious origin lie at the heart of New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jewell’s next suspenseful drama that will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty and Paula Hawkins.

In a windswept British seaside town, single mom Alice Lake finds a man sitting on the beach outside her house. He has no name, no jacket, and no idea how he got there. Against her better judgment, she invites him inside.

Meanwhile, in a suburb of London, twenty-one-year-old Lily Monrose has only been married for three weeks. When her new husband fails to come home from work one night she is left stranded in a new country where she knows no one. Then the police tell her that her husband never existed.

Twenty-three years earlier, Gray and Kirsty are teenagers on a summer holiday with their parents. Their annual trip to the quaint seaside town is passing by uneventfully, until an enigmatic young man starts paying extra attention to Kirsty. Something about him makes Gray uncomfortable—and it’s not just that he’s playing the role of protective older brother.

Two decades of secrets, a missing husband, and a man with no memory are at the heart of this brilliant new novel, filled with the “beautiful writing, believable characters, pacey narrative, and dark secrets” (London Daily Mail) that make Lisa Jewell so beloved by audiences on both sides of the Atlantic. Continue reading “Arc Review: I Found You”